A World Without Nurses?

I would like to open my introductory post with a question, what would the world be like without nurses?

Some of you are thinking, “well without nurses, no one would give me those horrible shots, or not bring me my pain meds when I want them, or take my vital signs which feels like every five minutes.”

If you were to ask me this question a few years ago, I probably would have said the same thing. Since making the decision to become a nurse, my thoughts on this particular occupation have changed.

Lets start with a short story. All growing up, I always wanted to be a Doctor. I was determined to obtain this goal and nothing was going to stop me. I had never had surgery or been seriously hurt or anything so I had never really been into a hospital or been seen by a real doctor before. So back then, I really wanted to be a doctor to be around patients and help them. After a few years of school, my doctor dream started to go away, but I still wanted to be in the medical field helping people. My dad suggested the nursing program, I told him he was crazy because nurses get stuck doing all the dirty work. Well after a lot of thought, I decided to take on the nursing program. It did not take long for me to realize that nurses are the one who spend majority of the time with the patients, not the doctors! I honestly did not know this! That was originally the main reason why I wanted to be a doctor to spend time with patients. It did not take long for me to realize that I had chose the right path for me.

If you were to ask me now, what would the world be without nurses, I would simply say this. A world without nurses would be a world without love, and service. Someone who’s job is to help those get back to a healthy state. Someone who is your friend and advocate during this scary time. Someone who hates giving hose painful shots. Someone who wishes they could give you more pain meds but they can not for another hour, and someone who takes your vital signs regularly just to make sure everything is okay.

A world without nurses, would simply be a sad world. So lets never find out.

Leave a Reply

